Sort by

Welcome to the library of Nicholas Hagger

Nicholas Hagger’s main thrust has been literary (selected and collected poems, epic poetry, verse plays, two masques, short stories, autobiography and diaries) but he has also written history, philosophy, and international politics and statecraft which have grown out of his need to clarify ideas thrown up by his literary work.

Click on a subject in the menu to the left in order to browse a subject. If you wish to browse several subjects simultaneously you can do this by clicking the checkboxes next to the titles.

His collected works to date are:

Please see List of Contents of Nicholas Hagger’s Poetic and Literary Works


Poetry Volumes

  • Selected Poems: A Metaphysical’s Way of Fire (1991)
  • Collected Poems: A White Radiance, 1958-1993 (1994) which includes:
    • A Well of Truth, 1958-1963
    • A Stone Torch-Basket, 1963-1965
    • The Early Education and Making of a Mystic, 1965-1966
    • The Silence, 1965-1966
    • The Wings and the Sword, 1966-1969
    • Old Man in a Circle, 1967
    • The Gates of Hell, 1969-1972
    • The Flight, 1970
    • Bulb in Winter, 1972-1974
    • A Pilgrim in the Garden, 1973-1974
    • The Night-Sea Crossing, 1974
    • Visions Near the Gates of Paradise, 1974-1975
    • The Four Seasons, 1975
    • Lighthouse, 1975
    • The Weed-Garden, 1975
    • The Labyrinth, 1976
    • Whispers from the West, 1976-1979
    • Lady of the Lamp, 1979
    • The Fire-Flower, 1980
    • Beauty and Angelhood, 1981
    • The Wind and the Earth, 1981
    • A Rainbow in the Spray, 1981-1985
    • Question Mark Over the West, 1986-1988
    • A Sneeze in the Universe, 1989-1992
    • A Flirtation with the Muse, 1992-1993
    • Sojourns, 1993
    • Angel of Vertical Vision, 1993
  • Collected Poems, 1958-2005 (2006), which includes the above and also:
    • A Dandelion Clock, 1994-2004
    • Summoned by Truth, 2000-2005
    • Sighs of the Muses, 2005
  • Classical Odes: Poems on England, Europe and a Global Theme, and of Everyday Life in the One, 1994-2005 (2006), which includes:
    • Book One, A Tudor Knot
    • Book Two, In Europe’s Ruins
    • Book Three, A Global Sway
    • Book Four, The Western Universe
  • Selected Poems: Quest for the One (2015)
  • Life Cycle and Other New Poems 2006-2016 (2016)
    • Life Cycle, 2014
    • In Harmony with the Universe, 2009-2016
    • An Unsung Laureate, 2009-2016
    • Adventures in Paradise, 2010-2015
  • Visions of England: Poems selected by The Earl of Burford (2019)
  • Fools’ Paradise: The Voyage of a Ship of Fools from Europe, A Mock-Heroic Poem (2020)
  • Fools’ Gold: The Voyage of a Ship of Fools Seeking Gold – A Mock-Heroic Poem on Brexit and English Exceptionalism (2022)
  • A Baroque Vision: 100 poems selected from 50 volumes (2024)
  • The Oak Tree and the Branch, poems 2016-2024 (2025)
    • The Oak Tree and the Branch, 2016-2020
    • The Tapestry, 2016-2023
    • A Plague in Arcadia: Oneness with Nature and the Universe, 2020-2023
    • An Oval Cloud, 2020-2023
    • Court Poems: More Royal Classical Odes, 2018-2023
    • In Arcady: A Gong and Padded Stick, 2023
    • Agony in Arcady: Stroke, 2023-2024

Epic Poems

  • Overlord: The Triumph of Light, 1944-1945 (published in four separate volumes 1995-1997)
    • Overlord, books 1-2 (1995)
    • Overlord, books 3-6 (1996)
    • Overlord, books 7-9 (1997)
    • Overlord, books 10-12 (1997)
  • Overlord: The Triumph of Light, 1944-1945 (one-volume edition, 2006)
  • Armageddon: The Triumph of Universal Order, An Epic Poem on the War on Terror and of Holy-War Crusaders (2010)

Verse Plays


Short Stories




Selected Letters (2021)

Selected Letters 2 (2025), in production

Literary Investigations

  • ‘In Defence of the Sequence of Images’, in T.S. Eliot, A Tribute from Japan, ed. by Masao Hirai & E.W.F. Tomlin, Kenkyusha Press, Tokyo, 1966
  • A New Philosophy of Literature: The Fundamental Theme and Unity of World Literature, The Vision of the Infinite and the Universalist Literary Tradition (2012)
  • The Tree of Tradition: The traditions and influences that have shaped the works of writers and thinkers in all civilisations, including Nicholas Hagger’s (then) 60 Universalist works (2024); also see World Culture below

Literary Travelogues/Eyewitness History


Collected Prefaces (2022)


Universalist Cultural History

World Culture

  • The Secret American Destiny: The Hidden Order of the Universe and the Seven Disciplines of World Culture (2016)
  • The Tree of Tradition: The traditions and influences that have shaped the works of writers and thinkers in all civilisations, including Nicholas Hagger’s 60 Universalist works (2024); also see Literary Investigations above

Historical Investigations

  • The Syndicate: The Story of the Coming World Government (2004)
  • The Secret History of the West: The Influence of Secret Organisations on Western History from the Renaissance to the 20th Century (2005)
  • The Fall of the West: The Story behind Covid, the Levelling-Down of the West and the Shift of Power to the East with the Rise of China (2022)
  • The Golden Phoenix: Russia, Ukraine and a Coming New World Order (2023)

American Trilogy


Universalist Philosophy

International Politics and Statecraft

Universalist Political Philosophy/Political Science

  • The World Government: A Blueprint for a Universal World State (2010)
  • Peace for our Time: A Reflection on War and Peace and a Third World War (2018)
  • World State: Introduction to the United Federation of the World, How a Democratically-elected World Government Can Replace the UN and Bring Peace (2018)
  • World Constitution: Constitution for the United Federation of the World (2018)

Universalism in All Disciplines

  • The Essentials of Universalism: A Philosophy of the Unity of the Universe and Humankind, of Interconnected Disciplines and a World State, 75 Prose Selections from 25 Works (2024)
  • The Promised Land: Universalism and a Coming World State (2023); also see Literary Travelogues/Eyewitness History above


The Last Tourist in Iran, From Persepolis to Nuclear Natanz

Eyewitness History
Literary Travelogues (2008)


Collected Verse Plays

Verse Drama (2007)


Classical Odes

Poetry (2006)

Nicholas Hagger